top of page

unRAID Down

/Added by HTTrack - ADD CSS Files - Older Browser CSS [if IE 7]> <link href="/templates/allrounder-j1.6/css/ie7.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="all" /> <![endif][if lt IE 7]> <link href="/templates/allrounder-j1.6/css/ie5x6x.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="all" /> <![endif]- ADD JavaScript Files ADD own template colors ADD own dropdown-menu colors math the width of the 3 columns Home

StartFragment

If you've read my previous posts you'll know that I have been a fan of the unRAID system for many years. My opinion hasn't changed, in comparison to other RAID options it is still a great choice for media storage. However, for me, I decided it is no longer cost effective.

It had been a while since I last checked on prices and sizes of the latest hard drives and was shocked to discover that I could now buy a single drive, larger than my unRAID setup, for under $150. My array has 4 x 1TB drives, giving me 3TB of available space which was nearly full. So I purchased an internal 4TB drive for my PC and copied everything over.

Of course, I still had to consider backing this up, one copy of anything is asking for trouble. So I purchased a second 4TB WD External My Book drive and set up some sync software.

This set up has the following advantages over the unRAID server:

  1. Power saving - no longer having to run the extra PC on the network.

  2. Updating - no more updating of the unRAID software or the Plex media server software on the unRAID box.

  3. Portability - my entire media collection can now be picked up easily and taken anywhere.

  4. Speed - because the drive is local on my machine it is a lot easier, and faster, to copy TV Shows and Movies to the Plex Server folders.

The only disadvantage is that I now have to run the Plex server from my main PC. This isn't too much of a problem because my system has plenty of power but I do have to think about what I'm doing when my wife is watching something from it. I'd be in real trouble if I rebooted in the middle of her show.

EndFragment

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page